Check your Alphards past history in Japan in detail with CarVX ×

Power Steering has failed

Hi everyone,

So yesterday when my wife was coming home after sitting in some local traffic for over an hour, she finally made it home.  Reversed into the drive and the steering became very heavy.  I have looked this morning and the power steering fluid is empty.  Can I buy and top up?  I am not a mechanic but working in engineering.  Are there Alphard specific failures I should know about maybe pipes or leaks that are common to the Alphard.  Any advice would be welcome.   Andy

28 minutes ago, AndyJThompson said:

Hi everyone,

So yesterday when my wife was coming home after sitting in some local traffic for over an hour, she finally made it home.  Reversed into the drive and the steering became very heavy.  I have looked this morning and the power steering fluid is empty.  Can I buy and top up?  I am not a mechanic but working in engineering.  Are there Alphard specific failures I should know about maybe pipes or leaks that are common to the Alphard.  Any advice would be welcome.   Andy

Hi Andy,

Toyota Power Steering Fluid is what the owners manual states. No specs i'm afraid !

Perhaps from Toyota Direct if you are not close to your 'local' dealership

57 minutes ago, AndyJThompson said:

Ok thanks,  why would the reservoir be totally empty.  Fair enough I could have a leak.  Over time would I expect to loose fluid?

Hi Andy,

I don't know why it would leak. Is it a high mileage vehicle ?

I am not aware of a common fault like this, but, to be honest, I wouldn't be.

When did you last check your fluids ?

From the sudden effect your wife experienced is seems something burst, not leaked.

Some Toyota Dealers will work on Alphards, many won't.

You may need a competent garage to take a look underneath at the piping etc.

When was your last MOT, because leaks and steering issues would be noted, for sure.