Check your Alphards past history in Japan in detail with CarVX ×

Question for an auto gearbox expert

is it a problem to slip in and out of neutral when a long period of costing are possible ?

The reason I ask is that I have some roads around here where I can easily just roll along for a mile or so,

I have usually had manual motors and I would push the clutch in and save myself petrol.

My Alphard is auto and im now in the habit of knocking in into neutral when I want to cost downhill,

a recent passenger of mine said i could damage my gear box doing this .

What say you ?

Hi Shawn,

I am no auto expert but have driven autos for 30 years, or more.

IMHO, it is not a good practice to coast an auto gearbox.

I am sure I read somewhere why (but cannot remember the reason).

Similarly, and possibly for the same reason. vehicles with autos should not be towed with the drive wheels rotating.

Hopefully an auto expert will explain whether it is OK, or not.

With injected engines you won't be saving much fuel as the fuel is virtually switched off on engine overrun.

Thanks mate.

I read in the manual not to coast downhill, but it explains the reason for that advice is the loss of engine breaking in an emergence could be dangerous.

Well that don't bother me as my breaks are great, and I can always slip it back in gear if I need.

As for the petrol saving – I notice the rev counter drops all the way down to tick-over when I knock it out of gear.

Also when in gear the engine drag slows me down a little when im not using the accelerator.

For example- I have a down hill road near me that is about one mile long, if im doing 40mph at the top and coast, ill still be doing 40 at the bottom.

But if I leave it in gear the rev counter will be double what it is on tick-over & the engine drag slows the van to the extent that I will need to occasionally apply slight pressure to the accelerator peddle to maintain 40mph

Its a quandary

thanks for you thoughts on the matter