NO POWER AT ALL

vivian

51 minutes ago, vivian said:

Vehicle is completely dead.

new battery installed - nothing.

Help please.

Hello Vivian,

Welcome to the Forum.

Please ensure the new battery is fully charged.

May be better to disconnect it it and remove it your  garage or shed and charge it overnight.

What were the symptoms before the new battery ?

I have a different model, but if the vehicle is allowed to stand without use the result can be an apparently dead car.

I keep a spare battery, fully charged, for when this happens, and I use it to start the car with jump leads.

When you do get it started, you need to run for 30 to 45 minutes to allow the alternator to fully charge the battery!

Hope this helps.

7 hours ago, vivian said:

Thanks for your reply!

it’s a brand new battery

if an attempt was made to connect it the wrong way round would it have shorted anything?

Hello Vivian.

I am not an auto electrician.

Hopefully one of our more learned members will answer your question better than I.

Trying to fit a battery, incorrectly, could lead to accidents.

The terminals are different sizes. The positive is larger than the negative.

The leads in the car are similarly different sizes.

So they cannot be properly fitted incorrectly, the wrong way round.

Unfortunately, this does not prevent them being temporarily (touch connected) incorrectly.

Did you do fit  the battery at home, or have a done at a garage ?

If you believe the battery has been fitted incorrectly, even for seconds, you may need to check all the fuses individually for any blown ones.

Generally, any sparking when fitting a battery is not a good sign either, as it means a least one circuit is live.

If you are desperate, contact Cuttothechase on ebay as he is close to you and may be able to help in some way.

Not enough information. 

Why was battery changed? 

What was the status before the change? Warning lights etc?