Check your Alphards past history in Japan in detail with CarVX ×

Alphard / Vellfire AH20 Rear Axle Bush DIY

I'll start this by saying I'm not a mechanic (I'm actually an accountant). I do have my own lift but would be more of a tinkerer than anything, so my techniques may not be best practice, but it got the job done. One other word of advice is that even though these were not clunking, nor even mentioned on a recent MOT I decided to go ahead and replace now BEFORE corrosion had a chance to take hold. As a result, using the right tools, this job took me, a novice, just over 3 hours. 

The offending bush:

IMG_9161.thumb.jpeg.de11af97915426b0382a02c566c0dbbf.jpeg

First job after removing wheels and getting the vehicle in the air is to unplug wheel speed sensor in the rear hubs. 

Loosen & remove 10mm brake unions both sides. There are four in total, however I only needed to remove three. The drivers side handbrake cable routes under a hardline which is bolted to the axle. When you swing the axle down the axle will effectively hang on the brake cable held up by the hardline, so undo this now to stop this from happening. I plugged all lines to stop fluid running everywhere.

Unbolt handbrake cables and wheel speed bracketry on rear axle. Remove level sensor on rear axle, passenger side

IMG_9162.thumb.jpeg.1460213445203a28f023282cc5055441.jpeg

Double check you've nothing else bolted to the axle that would prevent it from swinging down. 

Next job is to unbolt the bottom bolt of the rear shock. Take the weight off the axle, remove bottom bolts both sides and this will allow the full assembly to rotate down.

Caution: It's heavy!!

Rotate enough to allow you to remove rear springs. Remove springs and set aside and then raise the axle back up and loosely bolt the shocks back in. At this stage you could, if you wanted, take the handbrake cables off altogether and remove the entire axle. It's unnecessary in my opinion but bushes might be easier removed that way.