Check your Alphards past history in Japan in detail with CarVX ×

Has anyone done their own conversion? and other possibly silly questions!

Hi, Newbie here, (so possibly daft questions to follow!)  I've posted another thread about vehicle specific questions but these are more about the "camper" side of things...

• Has anyone done their own conversion and if so your thoughts please?
  • Do the seats in an Alphard in it's car format go down to make a flat "bed" at all? (am thinking it would work short term for me to meet my initial needs (house hunting far afield!)
  • Does anyone have a conversion with a more "fixed" single bed? I know they are out there but would be interested in details 
  • I'm very short, what's the width of the inside space - could I get a way with a custom made fixed bed that goes across the vehicle?
  • I think the windows have standard "car" glazing as opposed to double glazed motor home type windows, does this cause condensation and prohibitive heating costs (have wild idea I may want to use it in the winter LOL)
  • PLEASE ADD ANYTHING ELSE YOU MIGHT THINK IS USEFUL, OR YOU WISH YOU'D KNOWN OR THOUGHT OF!

Really glad to have found this group!  Janine 🙂

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Janine

The seats go almost fully flat, but you would require some custom made cushions to go on top of the seats to make it fully flat. I bought my Alphard from this site, and this is a link to some good pictures of the seats flat with cushions - https://www.hertfordcampers.co.uk/toyota-alphard-elevator#&gid=1787709184&pid=31

I believe the back seats (removed in the pictures linked above) also go flat.

Can't help on the single bed question, but I am in the process of removing the middles seats, and building custom wooden boxes in an L shape to put in, in their place, with a double bed pop up structure.