Check your Alphards past history in Japan in detail with CarVX ×

E10 E5 Fuel

I have a 2003 Alphard

Friend of mine tells me that using E10 will cause huge problems because of high ethanol content.

It's getting dificult to find E5 fuel on the Island.

Are the warnings about using E10 on an older petrol vehicle justified?

Could I use E10 with an additive of some sort?

Sure this has been discussed before but my mate has really put the wind up me with his horror stories!

Thanks, Dave.

Hi Dave

I have a 2009 Vellfire, so some of this might not be true for you. I was told when I bought mine to use E5 only, so I did some research. This is what I found. I am no expert so this if for information only, make your own decision.

E10 has more ethanol so it can cause problems in older cars, by older the research I have found states cars pre 2000. The problems it can cause is rotting of rubber fuel hoses and welds in carburettors. As Alphards / Vellfires are fuel injected this last one does not matter. There is also reports that because it ethanol does not burn, there is lower MPG, however I never found any actual scientific figures for this at all, only conjecture. 

Toyota UK will not state whether imported cars from Japan are safe to use E10. They do state that European cars produced since January 1998 are compatible with the exception of the Toyota Avensis 2.0 litre with the 1AZ-FSE engine and the 2.4 litre with the 2AZ-FSE up to 2008. I have no idea of the engine that is in your car is one of these. I assume that Toyota design engines and fit them in different cars. My last car was a Mercedes with a Renault engine, so for cost cutting this may be the case.

On the flip side, I found an article saying the Japanese government has been looking into adding extra ethanol in fuel over there since 2000, even stating that they want to get to far more then 10%, and the logic in me is saying that companies like Toyota, who build cars to last, would build cars with this in mind.